cara_noble

Who do I pay my taxes to?

I am a freelancer, currently living in the Dominican Republic, working for an Austrailian company but a British citizen. Who do I pay my taxes to and how? I am new to this. I am on a low wage so not even sure I need to pay taxes.

9 REPLIES 9
lysis10

Don't they have tax people there you can ask? 

kochubei_valeria
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Cara,

You are responsible for reporting your Upwork income to your local tax authorities. We won't be able to advise you on details but you can talk to a local tax adviser to get more information.

Also, see this help article for more information.

~ Valeria
Upwork

Hi Valeria,

I spoke with HMRC (UK tax office) and they informed me that since I am not receiving my income from the UK, I do not have to do declare my taxes to them. So question is now, which country do I declare them to?

@Cara N wrote:

Hi Valeria,

I spoke with HMRC (UK tax office) and they informed me that since I am not receiving my income from the UK, I do not have to do declare my taxes to them. So question is now, which country do I declare them to?

If you are living in the Dominican Republic, and if you have the right to work there as a freelancer, then presumably they have their own tax system: http://www.drlawyer.com/taxation-dominican-republic/

It is so easy to Google this stuff.

fatig

You always pay in the country you're living in, unless you're there for a short period of time only.

How much and how to do it in general - you need to google Dominican Republic's rules. 

@Iga F wrote:

You always pay in the country you're living in, unless you're there for a short period of time only.

How much and how to do it in general - you need to google Dominican Republic's rules. 

Which is why I sent that link to the OP.

In some countries, even if it is only for a short period of time, it is illegal for a non-resident to work as a freelancer.