🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Why are there so many scammers on Upwork?
Page options
metalgear3
Community Member

Why are there so many scammers on Upwork?

I have been a member on Upwork for almost 2 years and I have only been able to secure only 1 paid job. 98% of all jobs I submit a proposal to don't respond. I followed every advice there is to take, I changed and optimized my proposals, I optimized my profile but the results have been thr same. The ones that do respond are trying to get me off the platform and work without a contract. I really expected more from Upwork and now I'm regretting ever setting up a account with this platform. I'm actively seeking alternatives.
10 REPLIES 10
yitwail
Community Member

Jesse, I'm sorry to hear that. I'm a developer so have no idea what it's like bidding on customer service jobs. However, I did a search for freelancers using "customer service" as the search term and the first page at least is full of apparently successful freelancers. If one's paranoid, one could believe those accounts are fakes, but I doubt it because I'm not fake and I have made a fair amount of money here, though not as much as some of the top customer service freelancers. Only thing I can think of is study a number of these profiles, and compare them to yours, and maybe you'll see something they're doing that you aren't. I would also be negligent if I didn't point out that all but one of the freelancers on the first results page are women, but no point in fretting over something you can't control. In any event, I wish you luck with your career, either here or elsewhere.

I'm sorry you don't seem to be having much luck. About how many jobs are you applying to? How often are you checking the job feed?