🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Why didn't I get a job despite having good sk...
Page options
zhaiderbd
Community Member

Why didn't I get a job despite having good skills on my job?

I am a graphic designer. I have good skills on logo design and illustration. I applied many applications for get a new job. But I do not get any job last 4 months. Why didn't I get a job despite having good skills on my job?

Thanks and regards

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
raina5
Community Member

I apologize if I said something wrong, i was trying to be helpful.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
cartrellgeneral
Community Member

There are thousands of other graphic designers on this website, many with good to excellent skills. You have a lot of competition. You need to find a way to make yourself stand out above the rest.

dzadza
Community Member

You used the same graphic on two different logos - that suggests stock graphic to any potential client. 

raina5
Community Member

Hi, How long have you been looking for work? It can take quite a while to get your foot in the door and start developing a standing here. I know you may not want my advice, but one thing I noticed right away was your extremely low rate. Perhaps that isn't low in your native country? I'm not sure, and others may be able to speak to this better than me, but when I see a rate that low I instantly think the work must be "cheap" and not  in a good way.  You have a lot of good samples in your portfolio, maybe shuffle them around a little so the first page of your work isn't all kind of one "look" - the logos on the first page all have a similar feel. Show that you can do a lot of different things.  Just some thoughts. Its a numbers game here. Keep sending out proposals, try to make connections with the clients, with a focus on connecting rather than impressing. Feel out what they need and express how you can supply it. Spend your free time making more samples showcasing your talent. Best of luck!

dzadza
Community Member