🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Why do I ever accept fixed price projects? NO...
Page options
analyst_nemanja
Community Member

Why do I ever accept fixed price projects? NO MORE!

This is a sort of a rant and I just need to vent off a bit. I would say that I am a pretty successful freelancer - I am top rated, have completed 60 jobs at a 99% success rating. 95% of my clients would recommend me and I have made over $20k thus far (almost 90% of that over the past year). So I am very grateful to Upwork for the opportunity I have here.

I am mad at myself for accepting fixed price work. Here's a piece of advice for all newbies who may be reading this - if a client insists on fixed price work, and if you have a feeling that the budget just might be a bit on the low side - insist on an hourly contract or run for the hills!

From my experience, 95%+ of the time, fixed-priced contracts are used by stingy clients who are well aware that the job will take you far more time than they would like you to budget in your quote. Essentially, they are aiming at a 30% to 50% discount to your hourly rate. And don't think they will reward your hard work with a bonus. Nope. 

Frankly, I think that all freelancers should boycott fixed-price contracts. Maybe in that way, behaving like a union, we may achieve better terms overall, for each of us.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Nemanja V.,

I'm sure there are certain common types of work here on Upwork where client and freelancer can agree on a fixed price that is acceptable to both, such as translating a single page of newspaper-grade French into Spanish.