🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Why does a randomcompany charging registratio...
Page options
70b5273a
Community Member

Why does a randomcompany charging registration fee?

I am new to upwork and I have no clue how it works but I do know that as freelancer we submit a proposal andif chosen then work on the tak and get paid.

But there is a company where I sent a proposal with 5 connects and they chose me but to start the work the agent is asking registration fee to get hired.

I need to know does it work like that?

Please help in this regard. 🙏 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ashrafkhan81
Community Member

Any company asking you to pay to get hired, to get a premium Id card, or send a registration fee, or whatever the reason maybe is a SCAM! 

Genuine companies or clients never ask for payment from freelancers, no matter how realistic the reason may sound! Lately, there have been many scams on Upwork, so you have to be careful where you burn your connects or what jobs you apply to. 

Any job offering unrealistic payments is most likely a scam, for example, typing job offering 30-40 dollars per hour or a PDf conversion job offering 100s of dollars ...

Another thing to consider when applying is, that you should not apply to a job that mentions their contact information in the job like a WhatsApp number, Email Id, or Telegram. It may be tempting to skip sending a proposal by spending connects and contact them directly, but they are most likely SCAMs. Do not make any contact outside Upwork until and unless a contract has been started on Upwork and the Escrow amount deposited. 

I don't know if the community will bash me for this, but of all the Crypto SCAMs or Frauds reported on the forum, almost 80-90% of victims were from Pakistan since you are also from Pakitan, I want to tell you to never ever in any form pay or get paid outside of Upwork! Do not send any money in Crypto or local currency to anyone or accept to receive money outside Upwork. 

Bets of luck!