cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why does oDesk hate Agencies?

Pablo R Member Since: Jun 21, 2007
1 of 4

Hi community, a bit of history: I've been running an agencie here at odesk for the past 5+ years. It started really well, we created a very nice group of friends and collegues, I did all the sales, I my self am a developer and never sold something without knowing exactly the skills involved and never sold something I could not code my self if required (sometimes I had to do damage control and this proved very effective).

Now, since about 2 years ago I notice no one, and by that I mean 70% or more of the customers, wishes to work with agencies at all. This started happening when oDesk allowed the customers to specify if they wanted agencies' contractors or not.

This begs the question: why is oDesk encouraging customers not to work with agencies and encouraging contractors to create agencies?

does someone else have a problem with that?

Looking forward to hear your comments people.

Best.

P

Community Guru
Lyam B Member Since: Nov 3, 2014
2 of 4

I don't know much about what has gone on with agencies, but logically speaking, I'd have to say clients aren't happy that someone is taking advantage of their work to profit themselves.

I'll give you $50 to do this - you then delegate that for $20 and make $30 for a copy and paste and a hire. Although that's what agencies do, I think clients aren't happy with the work ethic (total speculation btw).

I also think adding a 'middleman' into a job compromises the quality. Instead of a client interacting with a worker for quicker responses, there's a "chain" that has to be followed, and with this chain has the potential to cause Chinese whispers which can damage the end-result.

Overall, I think it's difficult to achieve a functional, decent agency. It’s too much of a workload for one person to properly contact, communicate and delegate work with freelancers.