🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Why don't clients leave reviews?
Page options
bdcb8474
Community Member

Why don't clients leave reviews?

I've been working on Upwork for a few months now, completing long and complex projects, and all of my clients are satisfied. However, some clients do not close the contracts. Why is this? I've closed some contracts by contacting clients beforehand, but still, some clients don't leave reviews. They thank me multiple times and tell me via message that they are satisfied, but then they don't rate me.

I'm wondering why this happens and if there's anything I can do to encourage clients to leave reviews. Feedback is crucial to my success as a freelancer, and positive reviews can help me attract new clients and build my reputation on the platform.

If anyone has any insights or suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
the-right-writer
Community Member

Most clients are not aware of the inner workings of Upwork, much less the feedback for freelancers system. Especially if they need a one job. They just want the job completed and be done with it. It takes time and is an extra step. Plus, Upwork does a lousy job of informing the client. This lack of information leaves freelancers chasing down clients and trying to get them to come back on the platform and fill out stuff. Upwork needs to improve the entire client information section. New clients often require walking through the process.

It's fine to ask a client to close the contract and leave feedback. What's not good are the freelancers who hound clients and beg/demand/threaten the client for a good review. It happens a lot more often than real freelancers would imagine.