tomicz

Why every client is a cheater ?

Hello there.

I am new to the oDesk and i have experienced cheating serval times. There's always unverified client and he never pays. Last job that i did a guy from china asked me to do few scenes for his game (though i am really good at it i have serval years of experience), i asked him what about payement, he told me he is gonna pay me over paypal, which is against rules of oDesk. I did those scenes, but i watermaked them, and he was all a like, YOU DON'T BELIVE ME ? I never sent him unprotected pictures, nor he ever payed, he just desapired.  Second client is from UK i am doing sprites for him, he is not verified and i guess he cannot pay me until hi verify his profile, he acts all dumb, i tell him to verify his profile and to pay me upfron a half after he sees my progress. I am sure this guy wants to cheat on me, i will send him protected sprites, and will give it to him until he pays.  I am scared now to apply for jobs, i am new and i have to apply to unverified jobs, but they are most of the time cheaters. Is there any way avoiding this ?

14 REPLIES 14

You realise what you just said violates odesk policy? I would be a little careful about talking about work outside odesk on the forum, they are getting quite strict on freelancers, especially those without a proven track-record. 

That said, not every client is a scammer:

1) Don't accept any other payment method

2) Check their feedback

3) Check their milestone payments

4) Check how long they've been working for

5) Do not send them any free samples

tamsandstedt

I just want to say that you don't need to only apply to unverified clients, even if you are a new contractor.