🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Why is Upwork charging me tax on top of a...
Page options
esionnoise
Community Member

Why is Upwork charging me tax on top of a service fee? UK

Hi There,

I'm a self employed UK resident. I filled out the w-9 form and was expecting this to stop Upwork taking Tax from me.

But I'm still being charged tax on top of the service fee. Is this right?

If so, are these earnings tax exempt from my self assement tax return?

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
AndreaG

Hi George,

Value Added Tax, or VAT, is a consumption tax assessed on Upwork’s supply of digital services. Upwork charges VAT to freelancers and agencies in certain countries unless specific exemption requirements are met. Upwork is required to collect this tax and pay it to the appropriate government agency. 

VAT is assessed on digital services provided by Upwork (i.e. service fees, membership fees, and connect purchases), not on services freelancers and agencies provide their clients. VAT rates are calculated according to the local rate of the freelancer’s country of residence.

~Andrea
Upwork
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

No, your earnings are still taxable; the small amount of VAT taken off by Upwork only applies to their service charge and not the total project amount. 

Thanks for your reply Christine.

They've been taking a 20% service charge plus what seems to be a 10% Tax. So 30% total deduction from my pay rate? Is that right? 

George C wrote:

Thanks for your reply Christine.

They've been taking a 20% service charge plus what seems to be a 10% Tax. So 30% total deduction from my pay rate? Is that right?