cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why my all new contracts are "Money back guaranteed"?

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Laiq K Member Since: Apr 25, 2011
1 of 5

Since the Money back guaranty program is started, almost my all of the contracts are Money back guaranteed. Even if I applied myself to a job, I received an offer from client and when I accepted the offer, suddenly I came to know that my contract is "Money back guaranteed". 

I suggest freelancer may be notified before accepting the offer that this contract will be Money back guaranteed. Some time it makes me alarming. Though I will receive the money but it may be damage my 5 star feedback.

“Sorry for bad English”

Highlighted
Community Guru
Ronald T Member Since: Sep 14, 2009
2 of 5

As a freelancer, I am not a fan of the oDesk "Money-back Guarantee" program. Over the last year, finding the best jobs and the best clients here on oDesk has become more challenging than in past years. Thus, for me accepting jobs from oDesk clients that do not meet my own criteria has become the norm (changes are in progress as of this writing).

Despite the warning signs (previous jobs history), one of those clients I had accepted a job from threatened via private email to contact oDesk with a dispute in order to get their money back. The threats from the client were prompted when I requested of the client that we re-negotiate the oDesk contract because that client kept asking for work outside the originally agreed to scope of work (aka "scope creep").

Although the client elected not to pursue any complaints via oDesk, that unwarranted situation did make me reconsider the benefits (or lack thereof) for freelancers regarding the oDesk "Money-back Guarantee" program. Long ago I had an email address whereby freelancers could send a request to opt-out of the oDesk "Money-back Guarantee" program.