🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Will maternity leave affect my top rated ...
Page options
izzyarcoleo
Community Member

Will maternity leave affect my top rated status?

Hey! 

I'm a top rated plus freelancer on Upwork, having been using the platform regularly since 2017. I'm about to start maternity leave as my second baby is due in a few weeks, so I've set my status to unavailable and I won't be working until mid February - and when I come back, I'll be working reduced hours/projects for a while.

This means that my 12 month earnings are going to drop below the top-rated requirement (I believe 12k?) for the time being. Will this mean I lose my top rated status? Is there a way to preserve this so my status isn't affected by having to take time off to have a baby...?

Not sure if Upwork has a system for this, but it seems like something that is worth addressing if not. It doesn't quite sit right that I could be at a disadvantage when I come back to work. Thanks in advance for any insights! 

*edited because I just found a couple of other threads on this*: the replies on those threads suggest there's no way to effectively 'freeze' a rating while on maternity, but that if I log in and send a proposal at least every 3 months during my time off it shouldn't change. I couldn't find an answer about dropping below the 12 month earnings requirement, though, so it'd be great if someone could let me know if that will mean I lose my top rated badge...and if there's a way to avoid that. 

3 REPLIES 3
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Izzy,