🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Will over due date affect the contract or JSS
Page options
ys_shan
Community Member

Will over due date affect the contract or JSS

Hello ,

I am new in Upwork for about almost a month. Got an offer and signed a contract with a client last week. I set up a milestone with 4 different stages on the proposal I submitted to the client and we both agreed to it.

So I just completed my 1st stage of milestone and messaged the client to get his feedback, but I haven't received any message from him yet, so I couldn't move on to the 2nd stage. But that will affect the due date of the 2nd stage milestone, such as causing me to deliver over the due date. Will this cause a problem to me as a freelancer?? fail contract or such??

I've messaged him a few times for a gentle reminder and also click the "submit work for payment" button from the milestone part. Is it alright to

click the "submit work for payment" button even before I get the client's feedback??

**Edited for community guidelines**

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Yan Shan:
The "due date" associated with a fixed-price contract or milestone is simply a text string displayed to users for reference purposes.

Upwork DOES NOT USE IT.

Upwork systems will NOT penalize you in any way for missing a due date.

If a client is fine with it, then you don't have any problem.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
prestonhunter
Community Member

Yan Shan:
The "due date" associated with a fixed-price contract or milestone is simply a text string displayed to users for reference purposes.

Upwork DOES NOT USE IT.

Upwork systems will NOT penalize you in any way for missing a due date.

If a client is fine with it, then you don't have any problem.

Thanks Preston, for explaining it. Now I get a better understanding on this

" due date ".

Since it is my first project on Upwork, I figure it is better for me to clarify this "due date" function.

Thanks again!