🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Work acceptable?
Page options
yinnetteg
Community Member

Work acceptable?

I am new to Upwork. I am interested in finding out if the jobs for product reviews are acceptable. 

There are many clients who want to know if you have an Amazon account, for which they want a product Review. For this job to be done the freelancer must purchase the product and after completing the job the client reimburses the money you paid for the product plus includes the payment for the review.

Can I accept such jobs or not?

Otherwise why are these allowed to Ben posted on Upwork should I report them?

5 REPLIES 5
petra_r
Community Member

Solary G wrote:

I am new to Upwork. I am interested in finding out if the jobs for product reviews are acceptable. 

Can I accept such jobs or not?

No, they are a violation of Upwork's terms of Service, they are a vioaltion of Amazon's terms of service, freelancers should have the moral compass to understand that such a job would be unethical as hell even if allowed....

Amazon have already sued over 1000 freelancers... (from another platform though)

Solary G wrote:

Otherwise why are these allowed to Ben posted on Upwork should I report them?

They are NOT allowed and when flagged, they are taken down. Yes, should flag them as inappropriate.

prestonhunter
Community Member

Solary:

Upwork does not have a blanket prohibition against writing product reviews.

But Upwork has rules against violating other sites’ TOS, and Upwork specifically does not allow jobs that violate Amazon.com’s strict rules against paid product reviews.

So the jobs you are asking about? Yes, they violate Upwork TOS because they violate Amazon.com TOS.

But if a client wanted you to write a product review in a way that didn’t violate anyone’s TOS, that would be fine. I could (for example) create a website about cookies and ask you to review a new flavor of Oreos for my site.