🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Work for 100USD contract finished & submitted...
Page options
godrin01
Community Member

Work for 100USD contract finished & submitted - client now closed contract and requested refund

Hey there! 

I developed a site for a client for $100 USD - approx 6hrs of work including Coding etc.  I submitted the milestone (=work) and presented the finished site. Yesterday, he then just requested a refund request, closed the contract & indirectly threatened to take this further. Essentially, I wasted 5hrs of work, for free.. As I see, he did not leave public feedback, but might have left a private one!

The monetary issue:

He asked for a full refund of the $100 in Escrow.

What to do now for me? Give refund, or dispute?

- I am new to the platform,

- I am eligible for Top Rated  soon ($1K billed next week)

-  Being new, I don't want my Job success score hurt  - that's the downfall of having fewer, high ticket Gigs where each bad private feedback would have bigger impact, I suppose.

The ethical issue:

- Giving him a refund would  support his  free-work behavior. That is damaging.

-  Opening a dispute might mean to other that I 'd be a bad freelancer.

What do you suggest?

Note: I do have all the relevant code & Website Files to prove I really worked those 5-6hrs.

Background:

Anyone checking my profile, will see that all past clients have been very happy with the work provided so far, so the issue is not on me:  https://www.upwork.com/freelancers/~0192fe400448d246c9

Best Regards

Michael.

6 REPLIES 6
petra_r
Community Member

Have you discussed the issue with the client? Personally I would try to resolve it with the client, if that's not possible, I'd dispute.

Michael S wrote:

As I see, he did not leave public feedback, but might have left a private one!

Oh he left private feedback for sure. It would not have been possible to close the contract without doing so.

Michael S wrote:

- I am new to the platform,