🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Worked for a Client Who is not Responding
Page options
winstonwrites
Community Member

Worked for a Client Who is not Responding

I worked for a week for a client who hired me from a craigslist ad and insisted I go through Upwork to be paid.They then made me an offer on Upwork. So I accepted their offer to interview and did a remote job for one week. Now they are not answering my emails and I think they won't pay me. I've never had a client behave this way before. I've never worked with Upwork before and didn't realize I was supposed to technically accept the offer. Now I see the offer is listed as withdrawn. So I sent an invoice on my own...

Please advise. Thank you. 

12 REPLIES 12
prestonhunter
Community Member

Clients are not obligated to respond. As freelancers, we get paid automatically whether they respond or not.

You were never hired, so your choice is simple:

You may learn from your mistake and move on.

Or you may choose to dwell on something that you can do nothing about.

As there was never a contract, there is nothing that Upwork can do for you.

I need to be very clear about something: You should not try to get paid for the work that you did on this project. To get paid outside of Upwork is a very serious violation of Upwork ToS, and you could get suspended or terminated for getting paid off-platform, or even for asking to get paid off-platform.

It is okay if the client sets up an official Upwork contract and pays you through Upwork. But I don't if that will happen.

I think the most important thing you can do for your future success on Upwork is to expunge all desire to get paid for this work.

The positive thing that came out of this is that YOU own the work that you did. You may post it as a portfolio item, or sell it, or do whatever you want with it.

Preston H wrote: