cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working on Upwork as a Ltd company (Question for UK freelancers)

Highlighted
Mathew H Member Since: Mar 6, 2015
1 of 17

I have been working on Upwork for many many years as a sole trader as I was only freelancing part time whilst working a full time job. In April I left my job to freelance full time (still as a sole trader) and I have now set up a Ltd company on the advice of my accountant and I am wondering what to do about my account here. I have built up a good profile over the years with a solid track record and want to keep it.

As far as I can tell, in the future I will need to invoice under my Ltd company name, and any charges (service fees etc.) need to go my company not to me personally. But there doesn't appear to be any support for this at all.

I have contacted support and they weren't much help as they didn't seem to understand the way a lot of freelancers and contracters are set up as Ltd companies and the requirements that come with that. Which is fine,  it is a US website why would they know about this specific UK tax thing.

So my question is to any UK based freelancers who operate as Ltds. How does it work for you? Do you just operate under your own name and pay the money into the company's bank account? I think I can probably expense the charges, but the invoicing could still be a problem. Do you just sole trade here and do the Ltd thing everywhere else?

Thanks for reading!

Highlighted
Community Guru
Ramesh K Member Since: Oct 25, 2015
2 of 17
You can open an agency account in Upwork in your company's name and work under it and receive the funds into your company's bank account.
Highlighted
Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
BEST ANSWER
3 of 17

Opening a one-man agency is not satisfactory. In the user Settings tab, there is a Tax Information section. Inside you can add your legal name.