🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Working with Similar Clients
Page options
dnwhite33
Community Member

Working with Similar Clients

Hi everyone, 

I need some advice. I have been freelancing with a client for that last seven months, and they were pleased with my work and extended the contract indefinitely. Through my work with this client, one of their colleagues and a similar company has asked me to freelance for them providing similar services. Out of courtesy, I informed client A of the opportunity and received a response I wasn't expecting. They were actually upset that client B contacted me and informed me that they would be sending me a confidentiality agreement so that I don't share their company's information. My dilemma is that I am unpleased in how Client A responded, it felt more personal and not professional, and I'm hoping this doesn't affect my opportunity with Client B. I want to communicate my disappointment, but I also don't want to risk my contract. I also want to remain professional through this process. 

P.S. Once the contract was extended, I didn't sign any formal paperwork. I'm still a freelancer/Independent Contract. 

Any suggestions? 

Thank you,
Danielle
4 REPLIES 4
tlbp
Community Member

Lots of issues here...

1. Upwork's TOS includes a prohibition against sharing confidential information received from a client. So, you have always been subject to that restriction. 
2. It is utterly ridiculous for a company to assume confidentiality without an agreement in place. If Company A wasn't aware of the protections in Upwork's TOS, then they were foolish to have not considered this issue prior to you bringing it to their attention.
3. There's a good chance the agreement they send will include additional clauses that you won't want to agree with, proceed with extreme caution.