🐈 Community
astepanov83

Working with an Indian client

Hi,

I'm offered a job by a client who resides in India. I don't live in India and pay taxes in an another country. According to his words, I need to have an Indian tax ID in order to pay Indian taxes that are 10% of all the payments. I also should pay taxes in my country, but there is an agreement between our countries to help avoid double taxation. The question actually is should I really pay Indian taxes when we still work through Upwork and I don't live in India?

The question is more to Indian clients, but if someone has some information please share.

Thanks,

Alex

13 REPLIES 13
prestonhunter

Alex:

The client you're talking to is being ridiculous.

Indian taxes have nothing to do with you if you work via Upwork and don't live in India.

As a freelancer, I have worked for Indian clients. As a client, I have hired Indian freelancers.

I have never had to worry about their taxes.

My advice to you if you are faced with a client or freelancer who wants you to pay taxes to them:

"Thank you for that information. I have your notes on this and I promise I'll provide these to my accountant who prepares my taxes. We will pay these taxes on our end, so you don't need to worry about it on your end. If you get audited, we will provide you with verification."

If they don't drop the matter and still insist that you pay them something, then rest assured that they are just a scammer and they are wasting your time or trying to rip you off.

Hi Preston,

thanks for the answer. The client seem to be reliable: I've had a skype chat to him and he possesses knowledge in a field we're planning to work in. Well, this of course doesn't mean that the job is not a scam. I've also never had such requirements when worked with clients from other countries. 

ahammed_farid