🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: a client trying to get free work
Page options
benali-abderrhmn
Community Member

a client trying to get free work

I client asked me to do a job for him on the day of the submission he gave me more extra work without paying anything extra, I was trying to be cooperative with him so I submitted the first work and asked for time to reviews and do the new work, three days after when I couldn't finish it yet he started to use inappropriate words and called me liar so I decided to stop the work, and told him that I won't do any extra work for him, then he closed the contract without consulting me and left a feedback where he lied about everything, he even mentioned contacting my university and that they said I'm a terrible student, he took a screenshot of the feedback and start to threating me to complete the work otherwise he'll leave it and leave the same feedback on my LinkedIn profile, I have no intention to continue working with him so I hope you can help me with this matter.

3 REPLIES 3
prestonhunter
Community Member

Benali:
As freelancers, we don't come here to work for free.

The overwhelming majority of clients on Upwork are good clients who use the tool properly.

If a client asks you to work for him, and you are interested in doing the work, then tell him that you CAN work for him.

Tell the client that you can do the project for a fixed-price contract of $XXX.00 dollars, or using an hourly contract at your posted rate. Tell him you will be happy to get started as soon as he sends you the contract offer.

If he doesn't hire you, then go to the job posting page and click on the Three Dots icon or "Flag as inappropriate" link in the top right corner and report the job posting. Select the option that says the client asked you to work for free.

If you ALREADY have a contract with a client (as was the case in your situation), and the client asks you to work for free, then you should say no.

You did the right thing.