🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: adding an external link to my portfolio
Page options
bbmonkie3
Community Member

adding an external link to my portfolio

I'm a freelancer, and I'd like to include an external link on my portfolio to show some of my previous work. Are we not allowed to add a link to a clippings page, for example?

22 REPLIES 22
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Leslie,

You can use your profile overview or portfolio section to show off projects related to any or all of your skills. Make sure not to share any private or contact information. You can share links to external portfolios when you submit a proposal. We understand external portfolios may include contact information, it is still fine to share these, though please make sure to ask the client to only contact you via Upwork.

~ Bojan
Upwork
tagrendy
Community Member

Hi Boran, could you please confirm if this is still true? If I submit a proposal with a link to an online portfolio that has my socials & email address, and in the proposal ask the client to only contact me via Upwork, then that should be OK. I can even add a text in the portfolio page to note if the client has seen me on Upwork to hire me via Upwork.

BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Tatevik,

Yes, you can share your external portfolios. Portfolios are an important part of a freelancer’s bidding process to show off their past work and their potential to complete a future project. That is why we are not prohibiting the sharing of external links to personal portfolios or other websites that provide examples of past work. We recognize that some of these links might include contact information and ways to identify and contact you outside of the Upwork platform. You're doing this correctly if you remind potential clients to only communicate with you through Upwork until a contract is in place.

Thanks! 

~ Bojan
Upwork