cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: bidding?

laurent213
Laurent N Member Since: Nov 7, 2018
11 of 17

I am new to Upwork as a freelancer, and I totally agree with you, Martina.

I did not realize that bidding was the basis for every hiring transaction.

Very disappointing.

" ...the client knows what he wants and what he is willing to pay for it. The freelancer knows what he's worth and what he is willing to work for.../... it encourages the low-ball offers that we keep seeing"

r2streu
Community Guru
Randall S Member Since: Mar 20, 2017
12 of 17

"I did not realize that bidding was the basis for every hiring transaction."

It isn't. Sometimes I bid below the stated budget. More often than not, I bid above. My work and reputation speak for themselves. If the client wants a professional, s/he hires a professional. If they just want it done quick and dirty, they hire a low-baller. I see no reason to lower the quality of my body of work just to land a client I don't really want to work with. 

laurent213
Laurent N Member Since: Nov 7, 2018
13 of 17

Hey Randy,

You say " Sometimes I bid below the stated budget. More often than not, I bid above."

So clearly, it starts with bidding.

When I set-up my freelancer account on Upwork, I was asked for my hourly rate for a reason.

I should be able to apply/show my interest for a job without having to confirm or change that hourly rate.  My rate is my rate. It would then be up to the client to decide, based on my qualifications, if they want to hire me at that rate.

If the client wants to hire me based on my qualifications,  but at a lower rate, then they would let me know, and the conversation would start.

r2streu
Community Guru
Randall S Member Since: Mar 20, 2017
14 of 17

So drop in your hourly rate if it's an hourly job. The point is, the entire process isn't bid-dependent. Yes, it matters that you're bidding what the job is worth.