🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » cancel contract (as a freelancer)
Page options
angloo
Community Member

cancel contract (as a freelancer)

I can't believe this is not a topic. I accepted a contract with very vague instructions, and the more I learned about it, the more time I realized it would take for the project, and the less worth it it would be for me to do it. No money has changed hands as yet. I wrote the client without reply 9to cancel, not previously) thus far. There does not appear to be an option to cancel the contract from the POV of the freelancer.  I do not wish to leave her a poor review (although she grossly underestimated how much time it would take), and I want to be able to wipe the slate clean so I can move on to other work. Please advise.

I am still pretty new to Upwork. I have applied to probably 30 jobs and landed a total of 1, and there was a problem with that one as well (since resolved).

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ericaandrews
Community Member

Yes. You absolutely can end a contract as a freelancer at any time.

Here are the exact steps for cancelling a contract as a freelancer.  (I don't know if the instructions that were provided on how to cancel as a 'client' will work when logged in as a freelancer, since the screens are different.)

1. Use a WEB BROWSER, not a phone/tablet

2. Go here:

ericaandrews_0-1675284452300.png

3. Next, do this:

ericaandrews_3-1675284674856.png

4. Then, do this:

ericaandrews_2-1675284497161.png

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "There does not appear to be an option to cancel the contract from the POV of the freelancer."

There IS an option.

A client may cancel a contract AT ANY TIME.

For any reason.

Or for no reason at all.

Navigate to the contract listing. Click on the "Three Dots" icon.

Select the option to "Cancel" or "Close" or "End" the contract.

All of thse mean the same thing.