🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: change membership plan, is this advisable...
Page options
guinevere1964
Community Member

change membership plan, is this advisable?

Hi,

I am new at Upwork and have not got my first job/gig as yet.  Would you suggest that I upgrade my membership to a Plus?  Is there any other way to be noticed by clients?  I feel that within minutes, 20 - 50 proposals are already in when I search for a job.  What are the benefits of the Plus?  I do plan to do a video to add to my profile, which will help to get me more noticed.

Thank you. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
moonraker
Community Member

Guinevere F wrote:

Hi,

What are the benefits of the Plus? 

None, really. 

You do get more information on bid ranges but there's not much you can do with that information. The Plus plan does nothing to get you noticed more. 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Guinevere F wrote:

Hi,

I am new at Upwork and have not got my first job/gig as yet.  Would you suggest that I upgrade my membership to a Plus?  Is there any other way to be noticed by clients?  I feel that within minutes, 20 - 50 proposals are already in when I search for a job.  What are the benefits of the Plus?  I do plan to do a video to add to my profile, which will help to get me more noticed.

Thank you. 

What do you mean any other way to be noticed? I don't think plus membership helps in any way in that regard. 

You seem to be looking in a very overcrowded category, I rarely see numbers like that in my niche. Maybe specialize more. 

What gets you noticed is the first 2 lines in your proposal, which entices the potential client to open it, which might lead him to open your profile. So work on these in that order. 

Edit: looked at your profile. Yep. All of the above applies in spades. Rework the whole thing. You probably start your proposal with the same line too. Lose all the greetings.