cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: client's misinformation

Highlighted
Ayodele A Member Since: Oct 7, 2017
1 of 16

Hello, I am a new freelancer. I submitted a proposal today about a writer with a background in healthcare and the client requested we chat on skype. I found this suspicious but obliged and then i was asked something entirely different from the scope of work posted. And they had these set of terms and conditions that sounded like a "slave driver". I am totally displeased with this act from the client. And i feel upwork should do more with client's job post submissions so that it doesn't affect the integrity of this platform.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Robin H Member Since: May 28, 2019
BEST ANSWER
2 of 16

Ayodele A wrote:

Hello, I am a new freelancer. I submitted a proposal today about a writer with a background in healthcare and the client requested we chat on skype. I found this suspicious but obliged and then i was asked something entirely different from the scope of work posted. And they had these set of terms and conditions that sounded like a "slave driver". I am totally displeased with this act from the client. And i feel upwork should do more with client's job post submissions so that it doesn't affect the integrity of this platform.

You've come to the right place to ask for advice.  It is OK to chat via skype.  You will not be violating Upwork's ToS.  The client MUST pay you via Upwork.  

Paying freelancers $12 for 1000 words is ridiculous.  You will be a slave driver churning and burning content for pennies.  BUT, there are plenty of freelancers on the platform living in parts of the world where $12 can feed their family of 4.  If you're not ok with this sum (hey you can make up to $20 if they like your work!), do not accept!

You have the freedom to choose your clients.  Do so wisely.  

View solution in original post

Highlighted
3 of 16

I politely declined the job. Thank you

Highlighted