Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

error message on profile

davidstephens45
Active Member
David S Member Since: Sep 12, 2018
1 of 10

When I try to continue my profile from the first page, it keeps giving me an error message, demanding that I type my street address into a box that it won't allow me to access, even though I've typed my street address into an apparently appropriate box. Help!

aocumen
Moderator
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
2 of 10

Hi David, 


Please type your address in the "Start typing your address" box. Once you type-in your address, it should auto-populate with your address. If your address is not listed in the drop-down options, you can list your address manually by clicking on the link as shown in the screen grab below: 

Screen Shot 2018-09-13 at 11.10.26 AM.png


~ Avery
Upwork
davidstephens45
Active Member
David S Member Since: Sep 12, 2018
BEST ANSWER
3 of 10

That fixed it. Thanks for your help! (I was trying to type in my address after not seeing it in the first few that showed. Should have scrolled.)

 

A different issue which you may (or may not) have any influence over: The profile refuses to recognize "copy editing" as a skill that I offer clients. It's included under "writing," but presumably the prospective employer will only see "writing." Later on, the profile refuses to recognize "copy editng" at all as an offered skill; the closest is "proofreading."

View solution in original post

tinker_bell3
Moderator
Joanne Marie P Moderator Member Since: Nov 26, 2017
4 of 10

Hi David,

 

Are you referring to adding a skill section? I tried replicating the issue and I can see the option to add copy editing. Once you click this option, it will show on your profile as copy editing. 

image.png 

image.png

Please let us know if you need further assistance. Thanks!

~ Joanne
Upwork
davidstephens45
Active Member
David S Member Since: Sep 12, 2018
5 of 10

When viewing my profile as others see it, the ONLY option under "skills" that fits is "English Proofreader." When I try to add "English Copy Editor," the computer refuses to accept it.

maryanna-hk
Active Member
MaryAnna D Member Since: May 20, 2020
6 of 10

Hello Avery and community - I am having the same issue - but there is no 'list' to choose from, it does not autopopulate, therefore I cannot finish my profile. I do not have the 'enter manually' option - it does not appear. Not sure what to do.

 

Many thanks in advance for your time and help! : )

bstojadinovic
Moderator
Bojan S Moderator Member Since: Mar 9, 2018
7 of 10

Thank you for reaching out to us, MaryAnna.

 

One of our team members will reach out to you directly to assist you with your concern. 

~ Bojan
Upwork
maryanna-hk
Active Member
MaryAnna D Member Since: May 20, 2020
8 of 10

Thanks so much Bojan, really eager to get things rolling with Upwork so want to make sure I can get my profile looking a little sharper.  Due to this error, there are other fields that are 'blanked out' each time I try to submit due to this error message.  Will look forward to hearing back from the Upwork team soon - million thanks!  : )

maryanna-hk
Active Member
MaryAnna D Member Since: May 20, 2020
9 of 10

Dear Upwork community - a ticket has been created, but still it seems there is no solution to my issue. Any pointers out there that folks can offer?  Eager to get my profile up and running.  Many thanks for your time and support! : )  m

maryanna-hk
Active Member
MaryAnna D Member Since: May 20, 2020
10 of 10

It works now - to the folks at tech support who have processed the ticket and fixed the issue - awesome work - many thanks!  : )

TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS
TOP KUDOED MEMBERS