Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

filter by avarage hourly rate paid.

Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
11 of 20

Vesna M wrote:


I don't think they (programmers) add what they think it's useful on their own. The order probably comes from higher instance, someone who rethinks what features Upwork should have and opposite. 

 

They did attempt to group "similar jobs" for search purposes, though, and that has failed miserably.

Community Guru
Vesna M Member Since: May 15, 2012
12 of 20

I didn't know they had tried to group similar jobs, though I don't see why they need to group jobs at all since they are already grouped. They only need to make basic math calculation. 

____________
Don't correct my grammar!
Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
13 of 20

Vesna M wrote:

I didn't know they had tried to group similar jobs, though I don't see why they need to group jobs at all since they are already grouped. They only need to make basic math calculation. 


 And yet, when a client does a search, they get a notation that the freelancer has completed X number of similar jobs, and that number virtually always dramatically differs from reality.

 

 

Community Guru
Vesna M Member Since: May 15, 2012
14 of 20

I don't know what's the criteria for that.

Simple logic says to me that for example all jobs done inside legal translation should count for similar jobs next time someone posts a job in legal translation category.

____________
Don't correct my grammar!
Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
15 of 20

Vesna M wrote:

I don't know what's the criteria for that.

Simple logic says to me that for example all jobs done inside legal translation should count for similar jobs next time someone posts a job in legal translation category.


 That makes sense, but most categories aren't nearly that straightforward. And, to break out into something like Writing>Articles and Blogging doesn't provide any meaningful information at all, since an "article" may range from a 500-word "off the top of my head" piece to a 2,000 word technical journal piece that requires a graduate degree and a 20-hour time investment.

Community Guru
Eve L Member Since: Feb 17, 2017
16 of 20

Vesna M wrote:

Eve L wrote:

By job category will never work. 

 

That would probably work the same way as the keyword search. For example if I search for freelancers with the keyword "Casino" it shows up that I'm a good match, as I have worked on 2 jobs that match that search. This is far from correct. I have 26 jobs in this niche, and 6 of them even have this word in the description/name. Even without any keywords just searching in the "Writing" category it says I have only worked on 2 matching jobs.

 

My guess is that it would be the same thing if they try to divide a clients projects in different categories. Something is broken in the whole category thing.


Instead of picking up results by keywords they could just connect with what client previously chose as a job category. Easy. Eg. Marc has four jobs in category Data Entry. He paid five freelancers, in average $5. Marc has $5 average in Data Entry category. Because you can't post a job without choosing a specific category, while you can match someone's search without having that category on your profile skillset or in the settings.

 

I see this as really easy thing to implement, I just don't know how to write code. Ugh, I hate that. Robot Sad


But this is what's not working. 

Without adding a keyword, but only search for freelancers in "Writing" I only show up with 2 jobs matching. Tiffany shows up with 11 jobs matching (sorry for using you as an example). I really doubt that 90% of all clients are choosing the wrong category when posting a job, and if they did most of us would never see those jobs, based on our job feeds. So there is something wrong here.

________________________
Freelancing is a gamble - To win you need skill, luck and a strategy
Community Guru
Vesna M Member Since: May 15, 2012
17 of 20

Eve L wrote:


But this is what's not working. 

Without adding a keyword, but only search for freelancers in "Writing" I only show up with 2 jobs matching. Tiffany shows up with 11 jobs matching (sorry for using you as an example). I really doubt that 90% of all clients are choosing the wrong category when posting a job, and if they did most of us would never see those jobs, based on our job feeds. So there is something wrong here.


 Yeah, I was focused at the case with average hourly rate paid and not freelance search results. This isn't the same thing.

 

I guess they need to have something flexible enough to get in all freelancers who write, and then again limit results to only relevant. Which must be a nightmare since a person can write so many various things across so many job categories. How can you make such algorithm that shots at the right spot for each individual freelancer? I don't know. 

____________
Don't correct my grammar!
Community Guru
Jennifer D Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
18 of 20

Vesna M wrote:

Eve L wrote:

By job category will never work. 

 

That would probably work the same way as the keyword search. For example if I search for freelancers with the keyword "Casino" it shows up that I'm a good match, as I have worked on 2 jobs that match that search. This is far from correct. I have 26 jobs in this niche, and 6 of them even have this word in the description/name. Even without any keywords just searching in the "Writing" category it says I have only worked on 2 matching jobs.

 

My guess is that it would be the same thing if they try to divide a clients projects in different categories. Something is broken in the whole category thing.


Instead of picking up results by keywords they could just connect with what client previously chose as a job category. Easy. Eg. Marc has four jobs in category Data Entry. He paid five freelancers, in average $5. Marc has $5 average in Data Entry category. Because you can't post a job without choosing a specific category, while you can match someone's search without having that category on your profile skillset or in the settings.

 

I see this as really easy thing to implement, I just don't know how to write code. Ugh, I hate that. Robot Sad


Okay but consider me as an example. I have only EVER hired in the Translation category (translating general website content). My average hourly rate paid is currently showing as $19.59 an hour on job posts. But that actually varies from $14.00 - $28.60 right now, which is a fairly broad range as it is.

 

Now let's say I realise I need to hire a legal translator to translate some legal documents (say our site Terms of Use or something like that). Obviously I know that I'm going to have to get experts specific to this niche for this - I wouldn't expect my regular freelancers to be able to translate legal jargon. And so I'd need to pay more for their expertise, probably at least 3-4x as much. So suddenly in the same category I want to hire experts at a far higher rate than I normally hire for. If those experts filter out my job post because my average hourly rate for their category is lower than they prefer, then I might struggle to find freelancers.

 

TL;DR version: as a client I don't like this idea Smiley Happy

Community Guru
Vesna M Member Since: May 15, 2012
19 of 20

I see translation is split into four categories: general, legal, medical, technical.

Problem solved.

____________
Don't correct my grammar!
Active Member
Constantine P Member Since: Dec 7, 2018
20 of 20

IMO, the honored TS have asked a very important question. I think it will be very useful if Upwork will be added with such a filter. I spent a lot of my time to look through the projects, which met my search criteria, but after I saw the client is happy to pay a very low hourly rate for the work I `m gonna ask much valuable compensation. Just a time wasting in some cases. I`m sure it is not a big deal to add one more filter.

TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS
TOP KUDOED MEMBERS