🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » fixed price contract gone bad
Page options
jnfo
Community Member

fixed price contract gone bad

Hi, I'm fairly new to Upwork as a freelancer.

A client recently hired me to help him write a federal grant proposal for his nonprofit organization. We previously interviewed about 6 weeks prior but he had to get zoning approval before he could move forward in applying for the grant.

He asked me to help him with only one week to pull the information together and submit the application. I communicated my concern about meeting the deadlin and said that he would need to provide information about the budget, the mission, program design, staffing plan, resumes, and letters of support or it would not be feasible to meet the deadline. He also agreed to be "on call" so I could ask him questions, check on status of documents, etc.

I modified the milestones for the contract so that the work was broken down into concrete deliverables. I prepared several sections, formatted the content of the proposal, and added his content into the application. In the last two days leading up to the deadline, it seems things went off the rails, so to speak. I told him my time was limited since it was a work day and I have a regular job. I kept asking him for sections and then informed him I would be out for several hours for a school event for my son. I worked about 15+ hours to prepare this application. He would not return my calls or messages and even edited an earlier document version I spent hours on. At this point, I felt like I was just spinning my wheels.