Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

freelancer

onedeep
Active Member
Caleb T Member Since: Dec 4, 2019
1 of 9

I'm a freelancer and I have billed a client hourly  but I was unable to complete the work due to being hospitalized but my pc was still logging hours as my relatives used it so I do not wish to charge the client. However, I already ended the contract so I can no longer delete the logged hours. What can I do?

jithintv
Ace Contributor
Jithin T Member Since: Oct 2, 2018
2 of 9

 you can/should refund the client!

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 9

If you navigate to the contract on your "All Contracts" page, and click on the "three dots" icon, you will see a "refund" option. You can refund a client whether or not a contract is open or closed.

onedeep
Active Member
Caleb T Member Since: Dec 4, 2019
4 of 9
I thought about that but didn't know if I could actually refund before the client pays anything.
prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
5 of 9

re: "I thought about that but didn't know if I could actually refund before the client pays anything."

 

I think if you go now and try to issue a refund, then you will be able to do so. Even if the client's credit card has not yet been charged.

 

The timing does not really matter.

 

You're in a bit of a situation. You probably already know that the fact that people other than yourself were able to run the time-tracker in your name, when you were not around, puts your freelancer account in serious risk. You probably already realize that running the time-tracker while your computer shows people surfing the web or playing with Facebook or Angry Birds or whatnot... all of that puts you at risk for being reported and sanctioned.

 

I'm sure you want to issue a refund as soon as possible rather than wait around to get reported.

 

For future reference: If it is possible for somebody else to run the time-tracker on your computer... then you need to fix this situation. You should have a secured account on the computer that only you can use. And it should be impossible for anybody other than yourself to log into your Upwork account.

tlbp
Community Guru
Tonya P Member Since: Nov 26, 2015
6 of 9

I'm guessing that Upwork will refund the $ to the client once they realize that OP has allowed others to use his account and record time. Sorry for your health emergency, OP, but your relatives broke the rules. 

aocumen
Moderator
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
7 of 9

Hi Caleb, 


I can see that you have already issued a refund to this client in good faith. As a gentle reminder, sharing your account with other users is a violation of the Upwork Terms of Service. As such, please make sure that you are the only one logging time, and working on your Upwork contracts. 

For your reference, please check this help article to know which violations cause your account to be temporarily or permanently suspended. 


~ Avery
Upwork
prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
8 of 9

The original poster clearly wants to do the right thing, as indicated by his refund to the client.

 

By now he has probably looked at the Upwork help article about rule violations that can lead to suspension, and noticed that the number one first-listed item out of all seven bullet points was:

 

"account sharing... Don't allow anyone else to use your account"

m_sharman
Community Guru
Miriam H Member Since: May 16, 2017
9 of 9

Not that it matters, as the issue is settled, but I'm not sure that the OP gave his relatives access to his account. I read his post as stating that he gave them access to his PC and they may have unintentionally triggered the tracker.

 

 

TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS
TOP KUDOED MEMBERS