🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » help with time spent editing? advice from edi...
Page options
emmkb
Community Member

help with time spent editing? advice from editors

Hi all, I´m new to UpWork and had just landed my first job editing some text, with the promise that there would be a lot more work as it is to launch a new website.

I am editing copy for marketing within the financial sector, it required some research of the correct terms as i am not an expert in that field. The advert also stated that we didn´t need to be.

So i have started on 5 articles sent, the average word count is about 2,600 words each.

I charged 20$ per hour for this job and would expect a document of this length to take me about 2 hours each, 1 hour to run through obvious spelling or word errors and 1 hour to clean up overall tone and grammar.

As i am new to the system, i reckon i was going to bill about 6 or more hours so far but i have also had to spend a lot of time getting familiar with a new concept and have not included that in my charge.

The client has now told me that my suggestion of pricing is way more than they would reckon on, that they expect me to edit each article in 20mins, but preferably 10mins!

At that rate, i expect this is unrealistic..for the money which is very low. It´s my first job so i had to start somewhere.

i have not yet billed hours but i feel this is a red flag signal that they won´t pay more. And...i already spotted some grammatical errors on their test website in another language so its clear they don´t have a high standard but are just keen to get the website up and running.

Can someone give me their opinion of this, what is a fair price?

To be clear, i have worked in print as a reporter, copywriter and translator and am used to working pretty fast but i also like to be error-free. Personally i don´t think it comes over well if a website is full of errors, it suggests that people don´t know what they are talking about.

4 REPLIES 4
petra_r