cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ideal cover letter

mofijur01
Active

Hi,

I need a strong knowledge about an ideal cover latter for any job post of Upwork (Data Entry, SEO, Web Design and Development).

21 REPLIES 21
m84champloo
Community Leader

Sure, there you go:

Hi there,

I'm Md Hafijur R and I'm a strong expert in any job posted on Upwork, be it Data Entry, SEO, Web Design or Development, so you can count on my skillz. Hire me and let's roll!

Regards

Md Hafijur:

As a client, if I sense... even for a second... that any of your cover letter was used for any other client or project, then I won't hire you.

Every word you send me should be about ME and my project. If I want to read about you, I can click on your name in the client-side listing of proposals, and I can then read your profile.

Please do not talk about yourself in your cover letter. Please don't use a cover letter template.

lysis10
Community Guru

Yo dawg I heard you like keywords so I puts some keywords in your keywords so your SEO can SEO.

tlsanders
Community Guru

Geesh.

Everybody quit picking on the new kid.

OP, you might do better to narrow your focus. Offering too many different services can make it appear that you're just desperate for work and not particularly expert at any of them.

There's no one cover letter that's effective, because an effective cover letter is responsive to the posting. It will be different every time. Generally, you want to be concise, respond to the specifics of the post, and talk about your own background/skills only in the context of the project and how they will enable you to do a great job with the project.

Tiffany's word "concise" is a great tip for cover letters.

If you send a long template cover letter, it is annoying.

If you write a long totally original cover letter, you're probably wasting your time.

I have hired dozens of contractors for many kinds of jobs.

I rarely read anybody's cover letters.