🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: insulting and labor abuse
Page options
186f3cc5
Community Member

insulting and labor abuse

I have a client where I have met all the expectations of the project. Even, several times I have had to work to meet a deadline from one day to the next without sleeping. Since he asks me to do things from one day to the next or the same day, even if that means that I have to put everything aside and meet his expectations.

So far I have been doing this because I want to have 100% job success. However, since I have finished with the project (construction of an API with all its requirements), today he asked me to solve something that is outside my fields of work. I am an end-to-end data scientist, but what you ask is for a cloud engineer.

Before this, his response was to insult me, insulting my skills and my work. This has never happened to me with any other client. Definitely a horrible experience.

My question is this. I feel that I am tied to the feedback that the client can give, even when I satisfactorily fulfilled the work with everything they have asked me. However, this does not mean that you should insult me. I would like to finish the contract in the best way. What are my options?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
JoanneP

Hi Benny, 

I'm sorry to hear about how your contract with your client is going. It would be best that if you wish to continue working on the said project, is to discuss with your client what they wanted to do with the project/ how they would like to proceed to get it completed. I understand that the client has not been the best at discussing things with you; however, keeping professionalism is always better than resulting in responding harshly. Please politely explain that you are still interested in completing what they asked for.

~ Joanne
Upwork

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
JoanneP

Hi Benny,