cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

need help

carla-ford
Carla F Member Since: Oct 27, 2014
1 of 40
Hi Freelancers I'm new to odesk and not really sure how this all works yet but I have a situation that just happened to me yesterday and I;m really worried if I am being scammed. I got an email from a potential client wanting to interview with me. I contacted her and she sent back a reply for me to contact via IM on Yahoo. I got on IM and contacted her and we did a interview. At the end of the interview she told me to hold while she sends the interview on to her supervisor well she comes back and says the company wants to go ahead and hire me. She wanted me to get back on IM at 8am my time today which I did. She told me that they would be sending me a check thru UPS. She said the check would be for buying equipment that I would need to work with them and to set up my office with. Today her supervisor emailed me a Employment Offer Agreement which I had to sign and email back. I started thinking about it because I knew that this wasn't what Odesk said would happen when I started getting offers. I contacted Odesk and told them what I have told you and they said it was against their policy to get hired outside of the company or to receive money outside of Odesk. What I'm asking is if this has happened to anybody else and if this could be a scam? Oh and the amount they are paying me is way more than I had on my profile. I'm really worried and just need some feedback!
katrinabeaver
Community Guru
Katrina B Member Since: Jan 9, 2011
BEST ANSWER
2 of 40