🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » new in upwork and it's been 6 months of apply...
Page options
Community Member

new in upwork and it's been 6 months of applying proposals with ''0'' result

Hello everyone;

I signed up for Upwork about 6 months ago.
My field is music production and composing. I've been working on another freelance platform for 3 years. I also worked in a very distinguished media music production company as a media music composer for a year in my country.

Especially lately, I've increased the frequency of my job applications, which is causing me to spend a lot of connects. I believe my job applications and portfolios that I present to clients are quite sufficient. However only 3-4 of my applications were viewed and 2 people got back to me. One of them was a scam. He tried to sell me sample packs through fake websites. And the other one asked me to do the work without starting the process of job in Upwork. He asked it only through message box. That is it.

So I haven't been able to communicate with any valuable employers even once.

If this topic has been discussed before, I apologize. I wanted to take a look at the forums for the first time.

Could there be something wrong with what I'm doing? Do I have to spend connects on things like the availability badge to get my applications viewed? Or maybe when I apply clients don't see me at all because they filter the applications? Because my profile has never been evaluated or I have never done any work.

I regularly check 'find work' page. It's been months. 

I try to apply to jobs that are in my field and have examples I can show from my portfolio. However no matter how good my portfolio is or how well written my application is, it doesn't mean anything if the client doesn't see it.

I'm starting to get tired of this and I'm considering not coming back to this platform anymore. I don't want to write content that portrays a sense of victimization here.