cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

oDesk - A WONDERFUL PLACE OR A WASTE OF TIME ?

TOLGA U Member Since: Aug 5, 2014
1 of 3
I am new at oDesk. Take that into account before anything else. Cause I'm a little split minded these days. Is this a wonderful community or am i searching for gold in wild wild west ? In my very first attempt here, I have hired a brilliant designer who helped me execute a great ad poster in just 2 days. Smart, talented, passionate, quick and very responsive to constructive criticism. I paid him his full fee and still, he kept sending new ideas. Absolutely outstanding ! I am a creative director at an international agency and in a process of building a virtual studio. My first experience at oDesk made me feel this could be a wonderful place to do that. My second experience on the other hand was a nightmare. A total waste of time and money. My numerous interviews put me in front of unskilled second class artists, who did not understand the brief, could not ask the right questions, not interested in our aims, and only wanted some money for the work whey would for sure not deliver. In the end, I had to choose someone out of desperation and the obvious happened. I am reluctant to spend time at oDesk anymore. At least in search of genuine creative talent, i am very hesitant. I write this to test out community's reaction and maybe, deep down inside, I want to meet someone who could prove me wrong. Oh. And. Good luck to all good freelancers. alp.
Community Guru
Gillian Michele N Member Since: Mar 15, 2012
2 of 3