cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

oDesk took 10% from my bonus!

nullagarrido
Community Guru

My last client was very happy with my work (yes, despite y 82% JS Score I am an excellent freelance translator!) and gave me a bonus, but oDesk took 10% from my bonus!

Is this ok and even moral?

I am sure I will be pointed to a help page that explains this, but I don´t care: I don´t think this is OK. I earned that bonus by working hard and delivering well before the due date, oDesk already took the 10% off my earning, so...

Another bug then? lol. I laugh because I do not want to cry!

14 REPLIES 14
david_gregory
Community Guru

Yes, oDesk takes 10% from bonuses.

They basically take 10% from all money received.

While you may not think it's right, think how many freelancers would start asking for money to be paid as bonuses if oDesk didn't take 10% from everything.

mikas_bog
Ace Contributor

@Natalia U wrote:

My last client was very happy with my work (yes, despite y 82% JS Score I am an excellent freelance translator!) and gave me a bonus, but oDesk took 10% from my bonus!

Is this ok and even moral?

I am sure I will be pointed to a help page that explains this, but I don´t care: I don´t think this is OK. I earned that bonus by working hard and delivering well before the due date, oDesk already took the 10% off my earning, so...

Another bug then? lol. I laugh because I do not want to cry!

ODesk takes 10% from everything you earn, including bonus. And believe it or not, I'm not against that 🙂 

Spoiler
yes oDesk take 10% all money receive ...
Ramzanul
rodelitodeleon
Ace Contributor

David G is right. "They basically take 10% from all money received."

It happened to me before. Not just that, they even take 10% from Christmas Bonus :). I just ignore it and consider it my Christmas bonus for odesk.

iaabraham
Community Guru