Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

payment question

laclark93
Linda C Member Since: Jun 30, 2016
1 of 5

Hi,

I'm Linda Clark and I am very new to Upwork. I have a question:

I interviewed tonight with a **Edited for Community Guidelines**. I was contacted via Upwork by **Edited for Community Guidelines**who said that my resume was reviewed and that they were offering an interview. She put me in touch with **Edited for Community Guidelines**

The interview went well and I was offered the job. This is where my question comes in. He informed me that he would send hiring papers, etc. to my email and then asked how I wanted to by paid. I questioned what role Upwork would play in this because it was my understanding that I would be paid through Upwork, not the client. I left the conversation on GoogleHangouts, telling **Edited for Community Guidelines** that I would confirm things with Upwork and then get back to him.

Any advice you can give would be most helpful.

Thank you,

Linda Clark

mwiggenhorn
Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
2 of 5

It is against the TOS to  accept payment of any kind through any means except Upwork.  This may well be a  scam.  I personally would not continue to talk to this client.  You are new and that makes you a prime target.

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 5

Linda, this is just a scam. These people are wasting your time and trying to steal your money or personal identity information.

kochubei_valeria
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
4 of 5

Hi Linda,

I am glad you came to seek advice from the Community before proceeding with this offer. Offering and accepting payments outside of Upwork is not only a serious violation of the ToS but also doesn't provide you with the same security and protection as using Upwork for your transactions does.