cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

profile assessment

Brian R Member Since: Dec 7, 2014
1 of 14

Hello everyone.  I am new to this sight and have been putting out application as soon as they become avaliable to me.  The problem I have is that I keep getting declined and I am not sure what I am doing wrong. 

Is it possible for someone to look at my profile and be very honest and let me know what about my profile is getting me declined?

Trust me I have very thick skin and can handle anything you can throw at me.  I just need an honest review.

Thanks for you time and suggestions.

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 14

Brian, I'm no expert, but I'll add my two cents.

You're not smiling in your photo. oDesk says you should be smiling. Maybe they have data suggesting that helps.

In your tests section:

Management Skills Test: 50%
Telephone Etiquette Certification 61%

These numbers seen lower than some clients may hope to see.

You can retake a test after one month, and you can hide any test that you don't want displayed. Try taking some English proficiency, English vocabulary, English spelling tests. That might add to your total test count so you can have a higher quota, and you can hide your 50% and 61% scores until you can do better on those.

You wrote: "full time work at home person."

I prefer "full-time, work-from-home professional."

Community Guru
Margaret P Member Since: Jul 7, 2007
3 of 14

You have no work experience listed, and no education. A client would think that either you never held a job of any kind or you were just too lazy to fill out the profile. Either one is not good. Fill in your profile with more information.

Community Guru
Marcia M Member Since: Apr 3, 2013
4 of 14

I don't know if it's just me, but I am seeing a lot of profiles now with no work experience or education. I'm not sure if this is the freelancers' doing or oDesk messing with profile views.

Community Guru
5 of 14