🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: "Skills"
Page options
diane-sutherland
Community Member

"Skills"

I don't understand what is considered a "skill" on the application. Can someone please explain this? Thanks, Diane

12 REPLIES 12
mtngigi
Community Member

Diane S wrote:

I don't understand what is considered a "skill" on the application. Can someone please explain this? Thanks, Diane

You have to state what skill are you offering as a freelancer.

1) Your profile requires a photograph of you.

2) Are you asking what the word "skill" means? I don't understand. If you do not understand what a "skill" is, why are you entering a marketplace in which "skills" are offered/applied in exchange for cash?

Of course I know what a skill is.  What I don't understand is what upwork considers a skill.  Why isn't being a published author considered a skill?  Or do I have to explain that as a published author my skills would be: writing, editing, proof reading, command of English, researching, etc.?  But thanks for your insight anyhow.

Being a published author is a fact, not a skill. 

Yes, you DO need to articulate, specifically, for potential clients, what skills you are offering to provide in exchange for cash.

In the first place, many clients need to be led by the hand. Do not leave it up to a client to understand what skills are implied by any executed project. For example, if I see a completed website, I have no idea what actually has gone into the production of that website.