🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » "Test" assignments that end up being just a f...
Page options
2e395a62
Community Member

"Test" assignments that end up being just a free work

Hi!
I'm pretty new to UpWork, but I have faced the following issue twice already. A Client is offering a translation job (or SEO rewriting job) and asks me to do some test work to ensure that I can handle the project. The scope of the "test" project is, in my opinion, too large. Nevertheless, as I want to land as many gigs as possible, I decided to give it a try and complete those "tests". As you may imagine, I have never heard from the Clients again. I believe what they do is just share parts of the work they need to be done among a few freelancers inexperienced enough and eager enough to land jobs. We (freelancers) complete these "test" assignments and bingo! - the task is completed totally for free. Is it common, or I just had a bit of bad luck?

12 REPLIES 12
ijlalzaidi786
Community Member

Hi Piotr,

you can flag that client and the moderator of the upwork will check the issue do not submit the work until the client pays you.

Ijlal, thanks for the response. I know the rules of not submitting the work without the contract, but this is a sort of "preliminary" test they run. I am quite surprised because both Clients were not the "no-name" clients - they do have a history on Upwork. Of course, there is a chance I did not pass these tests (I seriously doubt it) but even if this was the case, a short "thanks, sorry, you failed" would be expected. 

I'll do as you suggested and will expect to get back the lost contacts.

Thanks again!

Piotr

Piotr O wrote: