Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

requesting "Available Right Now" option

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
1 of 7

Currently I can specify my availability as a contractor using one of these three options:

- More than 30 hrs/week
- Less than 30 hrs/week
- As Needed - Open to Offers

But I don't see an option to indicate that I'm available RIGHT NOW.

Is there such an option, but I'm just missing this?

I would find this very useful as both a contractor and client.

Because sometimes, as a client, I would like to get some work done RIGHT NOW, such as when I need to do some screen-sharing and get a talented contractor to help me fix a technical problem.

And sometimes as a contractor I have time to do something right now, not in a few hours or tomorrow, but as I'm sitting there. I'm willing to help out clients if they need my particular expertise immediately or just want to pay for some immediate consultation.

Upwork has talked around this before, and has made a big deal about being able to hire contractors quickly. But I don't see any way to hire live, immediate help, or to offer such.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Linda P Member Since: Aug 1, 2015
2 of 7

Preston, I full heartedly agree with you about having the option to let clients know we are immediately available.

That being said, I am doubtful most clients will take it seriously. As I have seen jobs that were needed to be completed by such and such date, or hiring within the hour, and still the job posting remains open.

But yes, an Immediately Available button would be great, so it doesn’t get lost in the proposal.

BTW – How long would you keep your proposals open, or after what time would you withdraw due to unresponsive client?

Highlighted
Community Guru
3 of 7

re: "How long would you keep your proposals open, or after what time would you withdraw due to unresponsive client?"