Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

scammer client

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Youstina M Member Since: Aug 7, 2018
1 of 9

Hello Im a new freelancer on upwork and want to explain what happend to me to know the right action i should take now:

I were accepted on a job and the client send me a contract with milestone paid way. He already paid for the first task but before i had submit the document for the second task, he argue me to continue work with him but with a very low price and i refused that ( with gentle way ) so we agreed to submit what i already finish after he add another milistone  and he will close the contract after that.

But what happend is that i send the documents on this new milistone but he kept the contract open and send to me a very bad speech on skype ( at first he asked me to give him my skype id to make an interview)

Now I'm not sure that he will close the contract to make the money escrow to me. What should i do?

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer R Member Since: Sep 15, 2017
2 of 9

If you have delived the agreed milestone, enter the project choose "Submit Work for Payment". Attach the file once more and request the release. The client now has two weeks to request a refund. If he does, just come back here and we guide you. In the meantime take screanshots from the messages he has send you on Skype and block him there.

You can always close a contract yourself, but all the money in escrow will then go back to the client, so just wait and see how he reacts to the payment request.

Highlighted
Vladimir G Moderator Member Since: Oct 31, 2014
3 of 9