cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[solved] Does one normally get the money after a milestone?

choy-jason
Jason C Member Since: Nov 3, 2016
1 of 5

Sorry I am new to Upwork, I have a question.

I am doing a project right now and just received my first milestone, about $500, the total amount is $1000.

I looked at my linked bank account and don't see any transactions.

Is that normal, or do I only get the money after I earned the $1000?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: thanks everyone for their response.

colettelewis
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
2 of 5

If the first milestone was funded and you have completed the work and asked for release of the first milestone, then your client has 14 days to approve the milestone. If it is approved immediately, or within a few days, the payment will then go from "in review" to "pending" in your job "reports" page. If the client does nothing at all, then the milestone will be automatically paid into your account. Please note that, if it is the latter, this can take up to twenty days before you get paid.

You will not get paid the full $1000  until the second milestone is set up and funded with the second $500, and you have delivered the work and asked for release of the escrow fund.

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
BEST ANSWER
3 of 5

@jason C wrote:

Sorry I am new to Upwork, I have a question.

I am doing a project right now and just received my first milestone, about $500, the total amount is $1000.

I looked at my linked bank account and don't see any transactions.

Is that normal, or do I only get the money after I earned the $1000?

Thanks in advance.

The client has already approved $ 500 (as it is already showing on your profile)

Take a look at your My Reports Page - is it showing as "pending?"

You can withdraw your available funds once they are showing under "available"