cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

taxes

Highlighted
Ana C Member Since: Aug 28, 2016
1 of 14

Hello, I'm new in Upwork and I was wondering how it really worked.

I'm currently a student, I have no prior real working experience and I am still dependent of my parents. I wanted to join the site to work as a freelancer to help with some extra money.

But I don't know if this is compatible with how the site works, I might be sounding ignorant but I have been searching in the site and still don't know how this works... Could I put other person's (parets) tax information (and in the W-8BEN form) or should I put mine even though I'm not technically a taxpayer?

Sorry, I'm confused.

Thanks in advance!

Highlighted
Community Guru
Garnor M Member Since: Oct 29, 2014
BEST ANSWER
2 of 14

Hi Ana,

I'm not sure of the tax laws that govern where you reside, but in terms of what's entered on your profiile and settings, it should be only your information. The expectation for your profile is that it truthfully represents you.

Thanks.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Community Guru
Scott E Member Since: Jul 26, 2015
3 of 14

You should have an NIF? If not, you can probably get away with your DNI.

"Welcome, humans. I'm ready for you!"
- Box, Logan's Run (1976)
Highlighted
Community Guru
Douglas Michael M Member Since: May 22, 2015
4 of 14

Ana,

Dependent or not, you are probably subject to a threshold of earned income that triggers tax liability. It is your responsibility to find out whether there is such a threshold, and its tax consequences (including how it may affect your dependent status). Tax information is readily available from taxing authorities.

Best,
Michael

Highlighted
Community Guru
Maria T Member Since: Nov 12, 2015
5 of 14

Hola Ana,

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

With the number of identity card and letter, it is sufficient. It is actually your NIF.