🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: violation of 3rd party policies
Page options
filippopagano
Community Member

violation of 3rd party policies

Hello,

I'm new to upwork and I see lots of job postings that ask to violate 3rd party policies: they ask to create whatsapp bots, linkedin scrapers, paid wordpress themes for a lesser price, university homework and so on.

Should I report them? What is your feeling towards such kind of requests? Personally I do not like to contribute to such "grey to black" side of the force and I would like my work enviroment to be clear of such rubbish.

Regards,

F

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You guys are very nice, thank you all!

So I took a look at Upwork ToS and it is very clear:

You may not use, or encourage, promote, facilitate, instruct or induce others to use, the Site or Site Services for any activities that violate any law, statute, ordinance or regulation; for any other illegal or fraudulent purpose or any purpose that is harmful to others; or to transmit, store, display, distribute or otherwise make available content that is illegal, fraudulent or harmful to others.

Then it lists examples in point 4.1.

The following [...] are prohibited [...] Seeking, offering, promoting, or endorsing and services, content, or activities that [...] would violate [...] (b) the terms of service of another website or any similar contractual obligations, or (c) the academic policies of any educational institution; [...]

And in point 4.3 explains what should be done:

If you become aware of any violation of these Site Terms or Use, you must immediately report it to Customer Service. You agree to assist us with any investigation we undertake and to take any remedial steps we require in order to correct a violation of these Site Terms of Use.

tldr Just to summarize, once again: Upwork Terms of Service obliges to report such activities and reserves the right to enforce its own Terms of Service.

Regards,

Filippo

View solution in original post