cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

violation of 3rd party policies

Filippo P Member Since: Sep 7, 2019
1 of 23

Hello,

I'm new to upwork and I see lots of job postings that ask to violate 3rd party policies: they ask to create whatsapp bots, linkedin scrapers, paid wordpress themes for a lesser price, university homework and so on.

Should I report them? What is your feeling towards such kind of requests? Personally I do not like to contribute to such "grey to black" side of the force and I would like my work enviroment to be clear of such rubbish.

Regards,

F

Community Guru
Mark F Member Since: Jul 10, 2018
2 of 23
I don’t consider Upwork my work environment but yes I would report some of these. I would them spend no mental energy worrying about if it was ever taken care of.
Wilfrid F Member Since: Aug 1, 2019
3 of 23

Well, I didn't know university homework was a violation of 3rd policy. If a client is looking for a freelancer doing homework at his place, we should report it? This is very embarrassing because I hit a client who needs a summary of an academic article in french and I was very excited by the job, but now he is asking me to voluntary make errors because otherwise her foreign language teacher could suspect him not being the author of the writing. So ethically it's clear for me that I cannot say yes. But what about if I propose him to write the best summary possible -I mean obviously free of voluntary error of any kind-, as any consciencious freelancer would do, since he will be then the "legal owner" of the writing and so he will be free to modify the summary according to his "special" neeeds? Or should I ignore him and reject the job? 

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
4 of 23

Wilfrid F wrote:

Well, I didn't know university homework was a violation of 3rd policy.

Of course it is. It is academic fraud.

Wilfrid F wrote: