cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why are the prics so low?

Mostafa S Member Since: Jun 22, 2015
1 of 21

HI all, i work as a translator and i was wondering why are the translation prices are so low? one client asked me to translate 400 article of 360  words each for 1.3$ per article. i do not have a degree in translation, but i do not think that this is the reason.

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 21
Mostafa, basic laws of economics. Supply and demand.
Many prices on Upwork are NOT low.
Things that are in high demand but low supply are higher priced.

Not everyone should work as a translator.

You don't have to work for low-paying jobs if you don't want to.
But if many, many translators are willing to work for small amounts of money, then prices will likely be low.
Ace Contributor
Ehsan K Member Since: May 22, 2015
3 of 21

Hi Preston,

I agree only in parts with you.

---"basic laws of economics. Supply and demand"----

Basic laws of economics don't apply here or at least not 100%. If you would analyze the pricing here on Upwork you would need to use Network Economics which is a completely different game than basic economics. Supply and demand (price effect) are one part of Network Economics, the other part is the network effect. Both effects compensate each other and depending on which effect is stronger prices move either up or down. Then you also have the effect of price vs quality which is another topic.

You can't really say wether prices are too low (or too high as a matter of fact; yes that's the other side of the coin) without a proper analysis of the network dynamics. What we know is that prices are based on a market solution since Upwork doesn't intervene or at least since recently. To analyze wether the price is too high,low or "fair" one would need to look for the stable equlibrium solution and the underlying market structure which influences the pricing dynamics.