Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice for Tech Freelancers When Projects Go Sideways

Highlighted
Community Manager
Lena E Community Manager Member Since: Apr 7, 2015
1 of 1

From managing cash flow and planning your personal finances to finding insurance and looking after yourself, growing a business is easier when you have help. Upwork Business Resources makes it easy for you to find service providers and connect with them directly—with special deals for Upwork members. Eagerto is one of the program partners.

Sometimes, projects don’t go as planned—despite your best efforts. Even when challenges aren’t within your control, you can inadvertently leave yourself and your business exposed. How? The following hypothetical situation is a scenario developers and coders may encounter.

EVERYTHING STARTED SO WELL

A year ago I quit my job as a full-time, front-end software developer to finally fulfill my dream of being my own boss. I now work as a freelancer and I finally feel in control of my own destiny: I choose what I work on, I decide my own hours, I can work wherever I please, and I have unlimited vacation days. I am a business of one—but when trouble strikes I have no one to go to for help.

Three months ago, a major online clothing company based in Spain contracted me to help with its website redesign. The designs were already drawn so my task was simple: Implement the new website design for the checkout page. As you can imagine, the checkout page was very important since this would be where customers pay, and thus, where the company made all of its money.

While I was working to bring the designs to life and paying particularly close attention to my work, other developers were also working to get the backend running smoothly…and I couldn’t account for what they were doing.