This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.

I need help withdrawing money in Pakistan as a Student

Highlighted
Firzok N Member Since: Jun 3, 2017

Hello everyone. I am new to upwork and I would really love it if someone could guide me on how to withdraw money from upwork in Pakistan. 

The thing is I know most people are going to say to me to set up a payoneer account but I dont want to pay a hefty ammount just to withdraw money. So I was hoping if someone who has experience in this could help me. 

What I want is to open a bank account and then send money as a direct transfer directly to my bank account. But theres a problem that bank account in Pakistan are not easily opened. I dont know if what type of account should I open and in which bank. I asked someone from HBL and he said that student account may get blocked when recieving money from upwork as it would not comply with my profile. I even checked Standard Chartered and they said that they dont open accounts for freelancers. 

I would also like to mention that I found some bank account type like Asaan account in various banks but found out that it limits international transactions. 

I would really like it if someone who has experience in this type of thing helps me out.

9 REPLIES 9
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015

Hi Firzok, 

We apologise for the delay in our reply. Why don't you check out this thread where different users have shared their experience with using the Direct to Local Bank withdrawal option in Pakistan. I hope it helps!

-Avery
Untitled