Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

A job you submitted a proposal to was closed. What will happen with my 2,4 or 6 connects spent ?

Highlighted
Active Member
Hernando G Member Since: Jul 2, 2019
1 of 17

Greetings, dear community.
To my email this notice comes frequently:
"A job you submitted to a proposal to be closed"
My question is, will I get back the connects that I spent to make my job offer?

Highlighted
Community Guru
Wes C Member Since: May 3, 2019
2 of 17

It depends on why it is closed.

 

You'll get the connects back if it's closed for TOS violation or if client closes without hiring.

 

If it closes because it expired, whether or not there was a hire, you will not get connects back.

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Randy M Member Since: Aug 23, 2015
3 of 17

I have further questions about this new message that I'm also getting on a regular basis.

1.  Does the message mean that when I submitted my proposal that the job was already closed?  I hope Upwork would default so that this could not happen but just want to be sure.

2.  What good does this message do us if be can't click on the message to find out WHICH job it was that was closed?  Short of that, it's a pretty useless message that doesn't help me in any way.

 

Thanks

Highlighted
Community Guru
Wes C Member Since: May 3, 2019
4 of 17

1) No - you should get an error if you click submit on the proposal and it's already closed.

2) There should be a link to your proposal in the email.  But to me, it's rarely useful to go back to see what job it was.

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Randy M Member Since: Aug 23, 2015
5 of 17

Thanks Wes.  I'm set up to only receive emails about job offers so I don't get an email about the closed jobs.  I think it should be as simple as clicking on the message to see which job it was.

 

 

Highlighted
Community Guru
Martina P Member Since: Jul 11, 2018
6 of 17

Randy M wrote:

I have further questions about this new message that I'm also getting on a regular basis.

1.  Does the message mean that when I submitted my proposal that the job was already closed?  I hope Upwork would default so that this could not happen but just want to be sure.

2.  What good does this message do us if be can't click on the message to find out WHICH job it was that was closed?  Short of that, it's a pretty useless message that doesn't help me in any way.

 

Thanks


I agree it's a useless message. I think it's best to disable those. 

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Randy M Member Since: Aug 23, 2015
7 of 17

Agreed.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Will L Member Since: Jul 9, 2015
8 of 17

Wes, when does a job listing expire?

Highlighted
Community Guru
Wes C Member Since: May 3, 2019
9 of 17

Will, I think it's around 30 days.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
10 of 17

You can check all these "job closed" notifications in your archives, to see which job it was.