🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » About Client Out from UpWork
Page options
oktaviany
Community Member

About Client Out from UpWork

Dear UpWork Moderator and all friends.

I'm an UpWork graphic designer from 2015, but just got active a couple months ago (June 2020 to be exactly, after I got my first order in Project Catalog, thanks to UpWork).

Since then, I have so excited to bid for a job and create more project catalog and thanks God and to UpWork, my reputation and client start growing. I started to tell everyone about freelancing on UpWork and then here comes one of my friend that are interested and asking this question to me.

My friend has already done a freelancing job since long time ago, longer than me. Maybe around 20 years ago. She build her reputation using personal website, promote it using paid advertising agency and through social media. She heard about UpWork long time ago but didn't take serious on it cause her  business is growing up.

Now that I have tell her about freelancing on UpWork, she started to interested.

But she has a question. She is planning to build an UpWork profile and then put a link on her website that pointing out to UpWork, so in case there is any client interested to work using UpWork as the payment, she can get the deals.

The question is, is it allowed if we have a personal website and put some direct information there, some portfolio there and then have a button that point out to UpWork site on it?

Of course, when she get a client from upwork, she will not redirect the client to her website or asking payment out of UpWork. Everything will be done in UpWork.

Only the reverse way, so if she get a client comes to her website and ask for doing work on UpWork, while in her website she has personal information. Is this website consider as violating UpWork TOS if in her website has some personal information on it?

Please advice and let me know if this allowed or not.